← Back to “Travelling Japan’s Wars”

Below is the periodization of Japanese history as it appears in the opening section of the book War as Entertainment and Contents Tourism in Japan.

Here is a table that did not make it into the final book but is reproduced here as supplementary materials. It lists categories of war over the course of Japanese history: Types of War in Japan (Jan 2022 ver)

pre-ca. 300 BC: Jomon period (early hunter-gatherer period)

660 BC: Mythical ascension of Emperor Jimmu

ca. 300 BC-300AD: Yayoi period (introduction of rice culture)

250-538: Kofun period (burial mounds of kings)

538-710: Asuka period

710-814: Nara period (capital in Nara)

794-1185: Heian period (capital in Kyoto)

1264-1308: War between the Mongol Empire and the Ainu

1185-1333: Kamakura period (capital in Kamakura)

1333-1336: Kemmu restoration (overthrow of Kamakura government)

1336-1573: Ashikaga (Muromachi) period (government returns to Kyoto)

1337-1392: Northern and Southern Courts period (competing imperial courts)

By the fifteenth century: Wajin (Japanese) presence established in Yaunmosir

1429: Unification of the Ryukyu Kingdom (Shō Dynasty)

1467-1590: Sengoku period (Warring States period)

1573-1603: Azuchi-Momoyama period (culmination of Japan’s unification)

1573-1868: Early Modern period (from Azuchi-Momoyama to Edo periods)

1603-1868: Edo period (period of the Tokugawa shogunate)

1604-1799, 1821-1855: Matsumae clan trade monopoly in Ezo / Yaunmosir

1609: Satsuma invasion of the Ryukyu Kingdom

1853-1868: Bakumatsu period (end of the shogunate)

1799-1821, 1855-1869: Tokugawa shogunate direct rule of Ezo

1868-1912: Meiji period (reign of Emperor Meiji)

1869: Annexation of Hokkaido

1879: Annexation of Okinawa (Ryukyu Disposition)

1912-1926: Taisho period (reign of Emperor Taisho)

1926-1989: Showa period (reign of Emperor Hirohito)

1945- : Postwar era

Forward to “War-related contents tourism”